Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

chicken baked in cream


I found this recipe in my new Bed and Breakfast recipe book and it was delicious.  I know – I know – it’s not very colorful and pretty bland looking, but don’t let that fool you.  We have been trying to eat less red meat, and I’ve decided to try unusual recipes. . . “unusual” being relative when it comes to what my husband will eat. It was very easy, although it takes some cooking time. It makes a really thick yummy sauce while baking and was perfect with some brown rice – the secret is cooking it in a over low heat for almost two hours.  Maybe next time I’ll serve it on a red plate!!!

•    4 chicken breasts – skinless and boneless
•    ½ cup flour
•    1 teaspoon paprika
•    1 teaspoon seasoned salt
•    pepper
•    butter
•    1 ½ cups heavy cream

Preheat oven to 300 degrees

Mix flour, paprika, season salt and pepper in a paper bag.  Add chicken breasts and shake.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium- high heat.

Add chicken breasts and brown on both sides – about 10 minutes total.

Remove and place in baking dish.

Pour cream over chicken breasts.


Cover tightly and place in oven for 1 ½ – 2 hours or until tender.

Serve over rice and spoon sauce over chicken.

print recipe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment