Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

French Onion Barley Bake

French Onion Barley Bake

 

A good friend of mine gave me this family recipe.  She has always been a really good source for unusual, but incredibly yummy dishes.  I know.  I know.  Canned soup and canned mushrooms?    Are you kidding me?    Have an open mind. I am sure glad she convinced me to try this!!!    Since, I have been on a real grain kick — this was perfect!!   These are those comforting cold weather dishes that pretty much go with everything.  I made this after work one evening, so needless to say, it is very simple to prepare.  

• 1 cup pearl barley

• 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

• 2 10 1/4 ounce cans of Campbell French Onion Soup

• 1 4 ounce can of mushroom pieces with liquid

• 1/4 cup of water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt butter in large skillet. Add barley and cook until golden brown.

 

 Add the soup, mushrooms with liquid and water.

Bring to a boil.

 

 Pour into baking casserole dish and cover tightly.

(I used a small Dutch oven).

 

Bake for one hour.

As you can see, the mushrooms float to the top and

make a nice presentation.

 

 Makes 6-8 servings.

 Print recipe

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “French Onion Barley Bake

  1. Anne Menefee on said:

    I found your website searching for a lemon pasta recipe. This looked interesting. I cooked it tonight and it was wonderful! I was a bad girl though and added some fontina cheese on top.

    • Fontina sounds a delicious addition. When I had some leftovers, I sprinkled some Parmesan and stuck it under the broiler for a minute or two. Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a comment