Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

White Bean Provencal Soup

I love soup.  I love soup so much that I still make it when it’s 85° outside, like yesterday when I made this delicious White Bean Provencal Soup.  Often when the rest of the country experiences miserable bone chilling weather, we experience a heatwave.   This occurred a few weeks ago when I warmed the house making my Beef Bourguignon when it was in the 90s.  Hopefully by Christmas, it will be cold again . . . ok ok, cool again.

I prefer brothy soups and thus live in a house divided.  My husband’s idea of soup is anything with heavy cream and his favorite is New England Clam Chowder, which I do not make because Santa Monica Seafood makes it so good.   I rarely get him to try my brothy soups, with one exception  Veggie Beef Soup, which he does love just because it has short ribs in it.  I found this  Provencal soup recipe in my mother’s old recipe box and it brought back those memories of trudging home from school in that miserable bone chilling weather and a bowl of my mom’s soup made it seem like 85 °.  Soup makes everything better.

• 1-2 ounces pancetta – chopped

• 1 pound chicken pieces – bone-in

• 2 14.5 ounce cans Cannellini beans – drained

• 2/3 cups yellow split peas  – such a pretty color

• 2 tablespoons Herbes de Provence

• 1 tablespoon parsley

• 8 cups chicken stock

• 2 cups onions – chopped

• 2 cups celery – chopped

• 6 cloves garlic – minced

• 1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes

• 2 tablespoons olive oil

In a large stock pot, heat oil and add pancetta.  Saute for about 3-5 minutes.

Add onions, celery and garlic. Saute 3-5 minutes.

Add chicken stock, beans, chicken, tomatoes and spices. Bring to boil.

Reduce heat and cover. Simmer 3 hours, stirring occasionally.  Remove chicken and pull meat from bone and stir meat back into pot.

Serve with crusty sourdough.

Serves 6

Print recipe

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “White Bean Provencal Soup

  1. Yum! Love soups with crusty bread!
    Even though I grew up in warm places, this always says Winter Warmth to me.

Leave a Reply

