Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

pear and apple crisp

What to do?   What to Do?  Apparently my pears and apples have multiplied like rabbits in the crisper.   Again, thanks to my produce delivery Farm Fresh to You, I get the most beautiful produce imaginable.  Both my husband and I love pears, but having over a dozen in the crisper is just too much.  Since I love any type of crisp, crostata, cobbler, etc., I figured a great to combine my pears and Jazz apples (our favorite) into a wonderfully scented and sweet melange with a perfectly crisp topping.   Crisps used to be hit or miss with me – sometimes too crisp – sometimes not crisp enough.  Well after several tries, I think I have come across the perfect topping which could be used for any fruit base.  With a crisp topping, less is more.  If you use too much topping, it will be tasty, but not “crisp.”   Such dilemmas.  But I do take my “crisps” seriously and it has to be the perfect consistency or I am disappointed.  This is a keeper and you can pretty much use any combination of fruit that is in season!!

• 4-6 pears – peeled, cored and sliced

• 4-6 apples – peeled, cored and sliced

• 3/4 cup white sugar

• 1 tablespoon flour

• 1 teaspoon cinnamon

• zest from 1 lemon and orange

• ½ cup juice from lemon and orange

Crisp Topping

• 1 cup quick-cooking oats

• 1 cup flour

• 1 cup packed brown sugar

• 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

• 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

• ½ cup unsalted butter – melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Place pears and apples in a 9×13 inch pan.

Combine sugar, lemon and orange zest, 1 tablespoon flour and cinnamon together and sprinkle over pears/apples.

Pour lemon and orange juice evenly over apples.

In a bowl, combine, oats, 1 cup flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder and melted butter.

Sprinkle evenly over pear/apple mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Let set for 5-10 minutes before serving.

You can serve it with ice cream or whipped cream,

but it’s pretty tasty all by itself!!

Print recipe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

