Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

baked mushrooms

Do you need quick, easy and delicious side dish?  Here’s a good one.  Again, I found it in my mom’s recipes, yet I really don’t remember her making it. . . most likely because mushrooms were pretty much forbidden since my brother hated them.   But I love them so I tried this simple side dish, and is terrific.   It pretty much will go with anything and I served it with Parmesan Chicken.

• 1 pound mushrooms – coarsely chopped

• 3 tablespoons unsalted butter

• 1 large onion – chopped

• 2 eggs

• 2/3 cups dry bread crumbs (I used seasoned)

• 3/4 cup milk

• 3/4 cup half and half

• 2 teaspoons salt

• 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Grease a 1 ½ quart casserole dish and set aside.

Melt butter in medium skillet. Add onions and saute until golden.

Beat eggs in a large bowl. Mix in bread crumbs, milk, half and half, salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly until liquid is absorbed.

Blend in mushrooms and onions.

Pour in prepared casserole dish.

Bake for 60-70 minutes until golden brown.

Makes 6 servings

Print recipe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

