Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Dreamy Creamy Lemon Squares

Dreamy Creamy Lemon Squares

Adapted from Pioneer Woman Cooks

I know I am in the minority, but sometimes I find traditional Lemon Bars a bit too rich.  I love lemons.  I love crust.    I love butter.  I love sugar and all the other  ingredients that go into making them.   They always look terrific.  I want to love them.  I’ve tried to love them.  I just don’t.  It’s almost embarrassing when you don’t love something that so many people adore.  So I figured I should find a substitute so I too, can enjoy Lemon Bars.  I found this recipe on Pioneer Woman Cooks and since I am such a fan of an oat crust, I thought I’d give it a spin.  They are definitely yummy and not too rich.   They are extremely easy to make and once again, you probably have all the ingredients in your pantry.

  • 1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 stick (1/2) cup butter  – softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar (lightly packed)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cups lemon juice
  • zest of 1 lemon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 8 x 11 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

Sift flour, salt and baking powder and set aside.

Combine butter and brown sugar in large bowl and with mixer, mix until well combined.

Add oats and flour mixture to butter/sugar mixture and combine.  I used my hands at this point.

In separate bowl mix, condensed milk, lemon juice and zest until well combined.

Press half of crumb mixture into baking dish.

Spread lemon/milk mixture on evenly on top of crumb mixture.

Top with remaining crumb mixture evenly but do not press down.

Bake 25 minutes until golden brown.

Let cool on counter for at last 30 minutes.  Cut into squares and refrigerate a couple of hours.  Serve cool

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

