Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Lighten Up!! Chili

Quick and Easy Chili


So after 29 years of marriage, I come to find out that I have been under a misconception.  I had thought all these years that my husband did not like chili.  I am quite sure I made it soon after we were married and he was not impressed.  Now it’s hard to wreck a bowl of chili, so I don’t think it was the me, but apparently it was.  So I casually mentioned that it would be nice if he liked chili because it’s just so easy to make.  He told me that he never said he didn’t like chili.  Go figure!!  It was that very day that I made my second pot of chili in 29 years and this time . . . he was impressed.  I have since made three more pots since we have a lot of catching up to do.  This is a pretty easy and delicious recipe and it’s great over grilled hot dogs with onions and cheese. . . which is what we do with the leftovers.  

  • 2 pounds lean ground beef or ground chicken (even more light)
  • 1 medium onion – chopped
  • 1 large stalk celery – chopped
  • 1 16 ounce can kidney beans – rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 jar salsa
  • 1 14 1/2 ounce can of diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1/2 can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 – 1 small can tomato paste
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 can beef consomme
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 teaspoons steak sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic power
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt

In a large dutch oven, brown ground beef or chicken, onion and celery over medium heat until meat is browned and vegetables are tender. Drain.

Stir in beans and remaining ingredients.

Bring to boil

Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 1 hour or until chili reaches desired thickness.

Ladle into serving bowls and serve with shredded cheddar cheese and onions, if desired.

Serves 6-8

1 1/2 cup serving – 350 calories

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

