Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Slow Cooking – Super Bowl BBQ Beef

BBQ Beef – Slow Cooker

Adapted from All Recipes

I seem to miss the boat (or take a slower boat) with many things in life and it takes me time to catch up to “cutting edge” stuff.  I don’t know if I am just resistant, uninterested or just passive.  For example, I will remark on someone’s hair cut two weeks after they got it cut, or I’ll see a “‘new” product on the internet, only to discover it’s been around for over a year, or I’ll START watching a TV series five seasons into its debut, or finally deciding to try to a Slow Cooker even though they have been around for decades.  Two years ago I did acquiesce and forked over $200 at Williams Sonoma and purchased the “Rolls Royce” of Slow Cookers — All Clad.   I was so excited to finally get my Slow Cooker and start making those yummy and tender briskets, pot roasts, etc.  I  got it home, spent a 1/2 hour unpacking it and put it on  the counter.  I took a step back to admire this gorgeous new addition to my kitchen and Buyers Remorse immediately set in.  There was no place to put it in my kitchen (or even close to my kitchen).   It was bigger and heavier than my precious pup. . . and not as cute!! 🙂  Where would I keep it . . . maybe the guest room closet?  What about carting it back and forth from the closet?  What about forgetting it was there when we had guests?  Too much stress for one appliance,  so I returned it.  Two years later, I still longed for a slow cooker so I finally purchased one. . . for $40 and it is FANTASTIC . . . and much more manageable, i.e. smaller than the  pup!  This is my first attempt at slow cooking and the meat literally shredded itself, it was so tender.  The sauce was fantastic and just the right amount of sweetness.   It will make a great dish for the Super Bowl.  Just start it in the morning and it will be ready by kick-off!!!

  • 1 ½ cups ketchup
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons prepared Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon liquid smoke
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 (4 pound) boneless chuck roast

Remove chuck roast from refrigerator and set aside.

In large bowl, combine ketchup, brown sugar, red wine vinegar, mustard, Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke.

Stir in salt, pepper and garlic powder.

Place chuck roast in a slow cooker. Pour ketchup mixture over chuck roast.

Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

Remove chuck roast from slow cooker and . . .

shred with fork.

Return to slow cooker. Stir meat to evenly coat with sauce.

Continue cooking approximately 1 hour.

Serve on soft French rolls.

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment