Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Lighten Up – Mango Coconut Shrimp

Mango Coconut Shrimp

Adapted from Cooking Light

I first tasted coconut shrimp during college at a restaurant in Malibu, California.  I have no idea why this specific dish had such an impact on me – –  it’s not like I remember when and where I had my first grilled lobster tail or chocolate covered frozen banana (some of my favorites) — well actually I do.  But, most times my memory is not one of my strong points.   However, I guess enjoying perfectly fried shrimp coated in a coconut batter overlooking the Pacific Ocean made an impression.  For several years thereafter, I would often order this dish, but over last few years, I had forgotten about it.  That is until I found this recipe in Cooking Light and it jogged my memory.  I don’t believe my first experience of coconut shrimp was “light” but this is and it is delicious!!

Sauce

  • 1 teaspoon canola oil
  • 2/3 cup onion – finely chopped
  • ½ teaspoon ginger – peeled and grated
  • 1 garlic clove – minced
  • 1 (12 ounce) can of mango nectar
  • 1 ½ tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Shrimp

  • 28 jumbo shrimp (about 1 ½ pounds)
  • ½ cup flaked sweetened coconut
  • ½ cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 3 large egg whites – slightly beaten
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 8 teaspoons canola oil divided
  • cooking spray

Sauce – Heat a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan and swirl to coat.

Add onion, ginger and garlic and saute 3 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add nectar and . . .

bring to boil.

Cook 10 minutes until reduced to 3/4 cup. Remove from heat and let stand 10 minutes.

Place mixture in blender and process until smooth. Stir in juice and ½ teaspoon salt and set aside.

Peel and devein shrimp, leaving tails intact. Discard shells or save to make seafood stock.

Place coconut in food processor and pulse 6 times until finely chopped. Add panko and pulse to combine.

Place cornstarch, beaten egg whites and coconut mixture in three separate shallow dishes.  Midway through, I put the cornstarch in a small bowl and it was easier to coat the shrimp, and less messy.

Sprinkle shrimp evenly with ½ teaspoon salt. Dredge one shrimp at a time in cornstarch, shaking off excess.

Dip in egg whites and dredge in coconut mixture.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 teaspoons canola to pan and swirl to coat. Add 7 shrimp and coat top of shrimp with cooking spray. Cook shrimp 2 ½ minutes on one side and . . .

turn and cook about 2-3 minutes on the other side or until done.

Repeat with remaining oil and shrimp until all shrimp are done.

Serve on top of rice with the mango sauce on the side for dipping.

PRINT RECIPE

Calories per serving: 367 (not including rice)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Lighten Up – Mango Coconut Shrimp

  1. Chrystal R. on said:

    I’m loving the recipes and the renewed interest you’ve instilled in me to possibly start cooking on a regular basis. Maybe…
    Also, I have to admit, I really, REALLY enjoy reading your intros before the recipes. Kudos, Cindi! Kudos!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

