Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Stuffed Mushrooms

Adapted from Ina Garten

Thank goodness Christmas is over.  I had this great idea about making several appetizers instead of dinner for Christmas Eve.   I was so exhausted tyring to juggle preparation and serving, that I could barely open presents – but I managed to muster up some energy to do so!!!    But seriously, I only made a few appetizers and we only had five people —  I am such a whimp.  I can firmly say that “catering” is not in my future.   There were two highlights of the evening — the bacon sage potato pancakes (a post for a later date) and these stuffed mushrooms.  I get very excited when I see mascarpone in a recipe!!!  I only wish I had made more and skipped the pathetic onion tart, which required me to caramelize onions for two hours and made more mushrooms!!! 

  • 16 extra large white mushrooms
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons Marsala wine
  • 3/4 pound sweet Italian sausage (casings removed)
  • 6 scallions, white and green parts (minced)
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 2/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 5 ounces mascarpone cheese
  • 1/3 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 ½ tablespoons minced parsley leaves
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Remove stems from mushrooms and finely chop – set aside. Place mushroom caps in a shallow bowl and toss with 3 tablespoons olive oil and Marsala – set aside. I actually tossed them directly in the baking dish I used.

Heat remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add sausage, crumbling it as it cooks – about 8-10minutes, stirring frequently.

Add chopped mushrooms stems and cook 3 minutes. Stir in scallions and garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add panko crumbs, stirring to combine. Add mascarpone cheese and continue to cook until mascarpone has melted and …

is creamy.

Off heat, stir in Parmesan cheese, parsley (I cheated and used dried parsley), and season with salt/pepper. Cool slightly.

Fill each mushroom generously with the sausage mixture. Arrange the mushrooms in baking dish so they snugly fit in a single layer.

Bake for 50 minutes, until tops are browned and crusty.

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

