Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Toffee Break

Toffee Break

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

I don’t think I’ve met a toffee I didn’t like.  It started as a child with those pretty pink cans of Almond Roca and continued with the discovery of Sees toffee and numerous other variations from local candy stores, but I have never tried to make it.   Candy thermometers intimidate me for some reason — the idea of having to be exact just doesn’t fit my personality (which is probably the reason why I can’t make a pie crust).  I am trying to get past that and venture out of my comfort zone.  So after watching 10 quarters of football throughout the day, by halftime of the third game, I was ready to tackle (no pun intended) toffee.  After reading through a few recipes, I thought the one from Smitten Kitchen was a keeper (the molasses intrigued me).  However, since it was my first attempt, I wanted to be more traditional, so I 0mitted the espresso – maybe next time ?   Anyway, here goes!!!!

  • 4 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons molasses
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup finely chopped nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, pecans)

Line a half sheet pan with parchment paper or silicon mat.

In large saucepan attached with an “intimidating” candy thermometer, melt butter, both sugars, molasses, and salt.

Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally until temperature reaches 200 degrees.

At that point, stir continually until temperature reaches 300 degrees.

Now was that hard?

Immediately pour onto prepared sheet pan.

Spread with offset spatula so it covers most of the pan and sprinkle chocolate chips on top .

Let sit for about 2-3 minutes to soften.

Spread with offset spatula evenly on top.

Sprinkle with nuts and press down gently.

Refrigerate until hard and break into pieces.

Makes a great hostess or holiday gift — fill a small mason jar and tie with a bow!!!

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Toffee Break

  1. Amy Ellzey on said:

    I just have to say this is DELICIOUS toffee!!!

  2. Finding Thyme to Cook on said:

    I just finished making two more batches. It’s so easy and sooo good.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

