Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Gruyere-Walnut Crisps

Gruyere-Walnut Crisps

Adapted from Bon Appetit

This recipe was in a recent Bon Appetit and sounded delicious and not too difficult to make.  I have never made crackers so I was a bit intimidated, but everything came together easily.  It made a lot a mountain of crackers and next time, I will freeze one of the logs to use later.   Since I thought they were pretty rich, a few go a long way.  Serving them with an antipasto platter (Bon Appetit tip) was perfect and a great balance with the cracker.  They are also great with a glass of champagne.

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks) – room temperature
  • 12 ounces Gruyere cheese – finely grated
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups (plus tablespoon) all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped toasted walnuts

Using electric mixer, beat butter in bowl until smooth.

Beat in cheese and salt.  Add flour and walnuts and beat just until dough comes together, adding teaspoons of water if dry.

Divide in half. Roll each half into 14 inch log.

Wrap in plastic and chill until firm – at least four hours – Can do 2 days ahead.

You can freeze them at this point – just wrap thoroughly.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cut logs crosswise into 1/4 inch slices. Place on baking sheet ½ inch apart.

Bake until deep golden brown – about 20 minutes (mine took 25 minutes).

Transfer to rack to cool.

Serve with antipasto platter or by themselves.

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Gruyere-Walnut Crisps

  1. I made this recipe after seeing in in B. A. and it was very well received. I tried it again, using cheddar cheese and pecans…also popular. I decided to make it for NY Eve, and could NOT find my recipe! Thank goodness you posted it. Wish I’d had your pictures the first time I made it!

    • Finding Thyme to Cook on said:

      I’m glad you made them with pecans, because I almost made that substitution. We love pecans, so next time, I will try the cheddar/pecan combo. Thanks!!! Have a great New Years Eve!!! Cindi

Leave a Reply

