Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Chicken Smitane

Chicken Smitane

smitane1

I found this recipe in the box of recipes from my parents, but I don’t remember my mom ever making it for us.  The combination of flavors intrigued me, (not to mention easy preparation) so I thought I’d try it.  You have to think ahead since you let the chicken sit in the sour cream mixture overnight.   As the chicken infused in the savory blend, the anticipation of dinner was heightened with every visit to the refrigerator during the day.  It got even better as it baked in the oven filling the house with a wonderful aroma.

  • 1 garlic clove – smashed
  • 1 ½ cups sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 ½ teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 4 chicken breasts (I used boneless/skinless)
  • 1 cup cereal crumbs
  • ½ cup melted butter

smitane2

Thoroughly mix garlic with sour cream, lemon juice, seasoned salt and paprika in a greased 9×13 inch baking dish.

Add chicken and coat thoroughly.

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

smitane12smitane5

smitane4

Place cereal crumbs in shallow dish. Remove chicken from cream trying to keep as much of the coating on as possible.

smitane6

Gently roll chicken in cereal crumbs and place in a greased baking dish.

smitane7

Pour melted butter evenly over chicken

smitane8

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour or until golden brown.

smitane9

Serves 4

smitane10

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Chicken Smitane

  1. Ahhh Sweet Memories! Just found a recipe in my long ago recipes . It is for Large Oatmeal Cookies. But the other half said “. . .ken Smitane”. I remember making this, and had forgotten about it. Went to browser, and thrilled to find it. Thank you for posting.

    I know exactly where this recipe came from: The LA Times Food Section., I am sure the recipe came from the Collection of recipes from Clifton Cafeteria, Downtown Los Anegeles. I worked downtown Bullocks for 3 years. I loved these cookes from there. And I loved this recipe when i made it. Thanks for the memories! AND I am going to make this again, cutting it in half for just me! Blessings, Judy Willis

    • That is funny. I remember the downtown Bullocks very well. Such a great store. I think that is best thing about food … the memories. Thank you

Leave a Reply

