Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Baked Mushrooms

Baked Mushrooms

baked mushrooms 10

This recipe is one I retrieved from “The Box” of recipes from my mom and dad and it was the first time I tried it.   I don’t ever remember my mom making this, but not surprised considering my brother’s adversity to mushrooms (see ” Sensational Sausage Strata” post).  It was quick and simple to make and I was pleasantly surprised in how it tasted out of the oven.   I think some Parmesan cheese would be a good addition and will add it to the egg mixture next time, plus a little on top to brown.  It will make a good side dish with most entrees.

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 medium onion (chopped)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup half and half
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1 pound mushrooms

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Grease a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish.

baked mushrooms11

Melt butter in medium skillet.  Add onions and saute until golden.

baked mushrooms 2baked mushrooms 11baked mushrooms

In a large bowl, beat eggs.

Mix in bread crumbs, milk, half & half, salt and pepper

(and maybe 1/4 cup or Parmesan cheese).

Stir until liquid is absorbed into breadcrumbs.

Stir in mushrooms and onions.

baked mushrooms 4baked mushrooms 5baked mushrooms 6

Put in prepared casserole (and top with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese).

baked mushrooms 7

Bake for one hour.

baked mushrooms 8

Serves 6-8

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baked Mushrooms

  1. Holy mackerel, Cindi! Your site is amazing! you put the rest of us to shame. 🙂

    My mom used to make something very similar to your rolled and stuffed steak recipe when I was a kid. She called it Spanish Birds ( I have no idea why). It looks so tasty… I will have to try all your recipes!

    • Finding Thyme to Cook on said:

      Thanks Gennie,

      The steak roll is just so good and once you get the hang of it, really easy to make. Sometimes, I got the recipe in half for the two of us, but most times, we like the leftovers, so I just do the entire recipe.

      Cindi

Leave a Reply

