Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Sunshine Carrots

Sunshine Carrots

IMG_0150

When I first prepared this recipe about 25 years ago, I did so for my husband’s boss and his wife (who happened to be a gourmet chef and taught cooking classes). Knowing my limitations as a cook, I wanted to make a very simple meal, so as not to embarrass myself or my husband. What is simpler than cooked carrots? Apparently a lot!! I could only compare the experience to the scene in Pretty Woman when Julia Roberts eats snails for the first time and the shell shoots across the room where the waiter catches it in mid-air. Well, as we were eating our carrots, they were so rock hard, that one shot across the dining room landing behind our sideboard. I have since learned how to steam carrots properly and this truly makes a delicious vegetable dish because the ginger adds a wonderful touch. It is always on our Thanksgiving table.

  • 5 carrots
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • Peel and slice carrots diagonally.

IMG_0141IMG_0143

Cook carrots to desired consistency (preferable not rock hard).

Mix all other ingredients (except carrots and butter) in saucepan and boil for one minute.

IMG_0146

I know it doesn’t seem a lot of sauce, but believe me it is. I doubled the recipe once, and it was way too much. After thickened, add carrots and butter and stir to coat carrots.

IMG_0149IMG_0151

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

