Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Ginger Cream Chicken Breasts

Ginger Cream Chicken Breasts

ginger cream chicken 8

I turned off my computer at the office at 5:29 p.m.    If it’s 5:38 by the time I exit  my office building, after making the winding climb out of the four level subterranean parking,  I am making good time.  Today, it was 5:36 and I even missed the preferred elevator that bypasses the lobby!!!    When you live in LA, it’s all about fractions of minutes when it comes to traffic.  If it’s one or two minutes later than 5:38,  it can add 10-20 minutes to a short 15 minute drive home!!!   I knew it was going to be a breeze when my first obstacle, (not counting missing the preferred elevator), a left hand turn which only had a line up of three cars (sometimes it can have up to 20)!!!  After making that turn I was flying home, making all the right critical decisions,  i.e. whether to go left, go right or stay straight. These are little games I think many LA drivers play to avoid road rage and stay sane.  Between my office and home, there are probably over 50 different reasonable routes so this decision making process is crucial and they must be made with no second guessing.  I pulled into our driveway at 5:51!!!

The evening only got better when I walked into the house being serenaded by The Beatles’ Please Please Me and being greeted the sweetest face.   buttons

After rubbing Buttons’ tummy for almost five minutes while singing (badly) along with The Beatles,  I washed up and was ready to start dinner.   Oh yeah,  I also greeted my husband with a kiss, but no tummy rub!!!

Over the weekend,  I opened a large wooden box I had retrieved from my mom’s house.  EUREKA!!!

The Box

The Treasure Trove was full of wonderful recipes over the years from my parents, when, in their day, were quite the entertainers.  I didn’t know they actually wrote out these recipes (in longhand).  Most weekends they hosted bridge, cocktail and dinner parties, BBQs, and brunches.  The planning & preparation that went into these events was daunting.

This recipe is from the Treasure Trove and I was excited to try it tonight, since it fell into my category of  “Dinner in No Thyme.”  Even though the recipe is decades old,  it seemed  worthy because of my love for ginger.  By 6:10, I had the butter foaming, the chicken dredged and I was ready to go.  It’s hard to believe that I had the entire meal on the table by 6:45.  I cannot wait to try the next recipe in their repertoire.

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 4 teaspoons ground ginger (divided)
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 2 whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts (split) or four cutlets
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/4 cup chicken broth (homemade or canned)
  • 3/4 cup half and half
  • 4 tablespoons minced crystallized ginger – I like to add even more!!!

Combine flour, 2 teaspoons of ginger, salt and pepper.  Dredge chicken breasts (or cutlets) in flour mixture.  Shaking off excess.

ginger cream chicken 1ginger cream chicken 2

Heat butter in a skillet (not non-stick) over medium-high heat, until frothy.  Careful not to burn the butter.

ginger cream chicken 3

Brown chicken on both sides.  If using breasts, about 10 minutes on each side.  Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes. If using cutlets, brown on both sides about 7-8 minutes.

ginger cream chicken 4

Remove chicken and place in 200 degree oven to keep warm.

Add 3 tablespoons of flour to skillet and cook about five minutes over low heat.

ginger cream chicken 5

Add chicken broth and half/half.    Stir until smooth and thickened. Season with salt and pepper and remaining ground ginger if desired.

ginger cream chicken 6

Take chicken out of the oven and pour sauce on top and garnish with crystallized ginger.

ginger cream chicken 7

Serve with rice with more sauce spooned over.

ginger cream chicken 9

Serves 4.

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Ginger Cream Chicken Breasts

  1. Chrystal on said:

    OMG! I can’t wait to try this one too. I absolutely LOVE chicken and with the ginger? Wow!!!

Leave a Reply

