Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Baseball Bars

Baseball Bars

baseballbars21

 

We are getting ready for the baseball playoffs and my husband’s beloved Dodgers are in the thick of things, so I thought it was time to pull out this recipe.  It’s touch and go and I hope this year they can pull off a few playoff wins and possibly make it to the World Series?

About 25 years ago, the Los Angeles Times featured this recipe from a girl with the same name as me, both first and last.  In the following weeks, I received dozens of calls from friends who wanted to hear all about my recipe, where it came from, how I got it published in the L. A. Times, and do I have more.  After repeating my story over and over about it not being me, it not being my recipe, and not having more, I figured maybe I should try the recipe to see what all the fuss was about. WOW – now I know why I got so many calls, although I could never take credit. As a postscript, not only did we share the same name, it ended up that her husband and my husband knew each other years before and played softball together. Go Dodgers!!!

  • 2/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 cups quick oats (not instant)

Prepare an 8″ square baking dish by placing non-stick foil in it with the sides overlapping about three inches. Grease foil thoroughly.  I added this step to the original recipe, because of the difficulty of removing the bars from the dish.  The first time I tried my new “step,” I didn’t use non-stick foil (even though I greased the foil) and spent 10 minutes peeling off foil stuck to the base.  Please use non-stick foil and DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP!!!

Baseball 12

In a large saucepan, melt butter, brown sugar and corn syrup together.  Add peanut butter and vanilla.  Mix well and stir in oats.

Baseball 2Baseball 4Baseball 3

Press mixture into baking dish and bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

baseballbars18

While baking prepare topping.

  • 12 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 ounces butterscotch chips
  • 2/3 cup chunky peanut butter

In medium saucepan, combine chocolate and butterscotch chips and peanut butter and melt over low heat and stir until blended.

baseball 14

Baseball 5

Pour over oatmeal base and cool Refrigerate for a couple of hours.

Food Blog #1 075

Baseball 7

When topping is set, lift sides of foil out and remove.  Take off foil and cut into squares.

baseballbars19

baseballbars20

baseballbars22

PRINT RECIPE

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baseball Bars

  1. Amy Ellzey on said:

    I just made this for the church potluck tomorrow. Let’s hope it makes it there before everyone eats it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

