Finding Thyme to Cook

Thyme is of the Essence

Outrageous Granola

Outrageous Granola
Adapted from Silver Palate

IMG_0114

I thought long and hard about my first recipe to post. I hear more “oohs” and “ahs” with this recipe than I do at 4th of July fireworks! The combination is perfect and the maple syrup and brown sugar provides the right amount of sweetness.

Granola is so versatile. You can have it in a bowl with milk. You can sprinkle it over Greek yogurt drizzled with honey, mixed with strawberries. You can make granola cookies. Or you can just eat it right out of the jar. But I must warn you, you may not stop!!! You can make it your own by using your favorite nut and dried fruit, but our family loves pecans and cranberries. I put it in large mason jars and it keeps fresh all week!!! It also makes a wonderful hostess gift in a small mason jar tied with a ribbon, with the recipe attached.

  • 3 cups oats (not instant)
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (I like to rough chop them so there are big pieces throughout)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup maple syrup grade B
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup toasted coconut (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Combine all ingredients (except cranberries & coconut) in large bowl.

IMG_0105IMG_0106

Spray jelly roll pan with butter flavor spray. Spread granola evenly in pan.

IMG_0107

Bake 20 minutes and then stir.

IMG_0110

Bake another 15 minutes. Keep an eye on it to make sure you don’t overcook. Cool completely.

IMG_0112

Add cranberries and toasted coconut.

You can cook it a little less if you like your granola less crunchy.

PRINT RECIPE

IMG_0163IMG_0165

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Outrageous Granola

  1. Sounds delicious… can’t wait to try it!!!

  2. Chrystal on said:

    I agree with Sandi. And I REALLY LOVE the pictures. Not only delicious to look at, but should prove very helpful in making sure things are turning out right when I try. 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to try your granola. My husband loves my grandma’s granola, but I’ve been having trouble duplicating it and store-bought isn’t as good (and it can also be pricey compared to homemade). Your next door neighbor invited me to watch your blog and I’m excited to follow it – I’m always looking for new recipes and your blog has really great photos and instructions. Thanks!

    • Finding Thyme to Cook on said:

      Aimee, I hope your husband likes this granola as much as we do. It is very simple to make. Just keep an eye on it while it’s in the oven – I think 35 minutes is perfect, but you can check it after 30. Good luck and hope you enjoy the future recipes. Thanks. Cindi

Leave a Reply

